afca-logo-footer1Founded in 2005, by local film critics Cole Dabney and Robert “Bobby” McCurdy, the Austin Film Critics Association is a small but powerful group. The group includes some notable writers and film critics representing media outlets such as Ain’t It Cool News, the Austin American-Statesman, the Austin Chronicle, CNN, Fandango, Film School Rejects, INsite Magazine,, Slackerwood, among others.

At the end of each year, the Austin Film Critics Association members vote on awards for films released in the same calendar year. The Austin Film Award is a special award given to the best film made in Austin or by and Austin-area director.

Winning films from previous years include Sin City, Take Shelter, and Me and Orson Welles.

Membership in this group is open to film critics with experience.

For more information please visit: